Francesca Gabbiani

"None of the Above, 2004 – 2020", Kanal Centre Pompidou, Brussels, Belgium

For this exhibition, John M Armleder invited around 50 artists from all over the world to present a work of art either no bigger than a postage stamp, or one that is immaterial: the result is an exhibition in which the works are either there to be discovered, or they are invisible.


Produced for the first time in 2004 at the Swiss Institute in New York, None of the Above is based on the rule of a game conceived by John M Armleder. At the time he invited around 50 artists to present a work of art subject to one simple condition: it should be no bigger than a postage stamp, or it should be immaterial.


At KANAL-Centre Pompidou, Armleder revisits None of the Above in an updated version. To the initial list of New York guests, the artist has added some new personalities, friends, emerging artists or recently discovered artists. This project, which will form the inauguration of the programme conceived by Armleder for It Never Ends, is completely consistent with the philosophy of the artist, whose maxim when it comes to organising exhibitions is to be radical.


And in that respect None of the Above does not disappoint; it offers a highly unusual experience. The number of artists on the programme hints at an exhibition with density at its heart. And the areas of specialisation of the artists, mainly painters and sculptors, promise an explosion of shapes and colours. Yet the space that appears almost empty, forces visitors go looking for the works exhibited in the form of a conceptual treasure hunt conceived by the artist.


List of artists: 

David Adamo, Fia Backström, Massimo Bartolini, Francis Baudevin, Giovanna Belossi, Monica Bonvicini, Gregory Bourrilly, Ludovic Bourrily, Olaf Breuning, AA Bronson, Yaima Carrazana, Isabelle Cornaro, Stéphane Da on, Philippe Decrauzat, Jason Dodge, Sylvie Fleury, Christian Floquet, Francesca Gabbiani, Piero Golia, Amy Granat, Wade Guyton, Fabrice Gygi, Alix Lambert, Christian Marclay, Simon Moretti, Olivier Mosset, Amy O’Neill, Virginia Overton, Mai-Thu Perret, Gerwald Rockenschaub, Haim Steinbach, Blair Thurman, John Tremblay, Pierre Vadi, Xavier Veilhan, Parker Williams, Jordan Wolfson.


More information

September 24, 2020